You are here

Greater Mankato Growth, Inc. Elects New Board Members

MANKATO, Minn. (March 22, 2019) – Last Tuesday evening, March 12, the Greater Mankato Growth, Inc. (GMG) Board of Directors appointed new candidates to fill open board seats.


The nominating committee, comprised of five individuals (two board members and three non-board members) were charged with identifying, selecting and advancing a slate of candidates for election by the Greater Mankato Growth membership. This year the committee received and considered thirty applications to fill six seats on the board up for election; terms running March 2019 to February 2022.


The nominating committee recommended, and the membership approved reappointing two eligible incumbents (Dr. Annette Parker of South Central College and Sheri Allen of Mankato Area School District 77); one who was an ex-officio board member and will now take a new role as an elected board member (JO Guck Bailey of Sign Pro and JGBailey Media & Communications); and three first-time board members. The three new members are Ben Ellingson of Eide Bailly LLP, David Kim of Gislason & Hunter LLP and Wesley Otto of OMG-Otto Media Group.


Charlie Whitaker of Taylor Corporation is the incoming GMG board chair. Mark Dehen, of the City of North Mankato and Back to Wellness Clinic, is now chair of the Regional Economic Development Alliance; and Jessica Hatanpa is incoming Vice Chair of the Regional Economic Development Alliance, as well as a City of Mankato Council Member and Hatanpa Insurance Agency-State Farm.


Andy Wilke, River Hills Mall, is the incoming chair of the Visit Mankato Board of Governors. Other new board members for Visit Mankato are Kaaren Grabianowski, Children's Museum of Southern Minnesota; Nate Newhouse, Pioneer Bank – Mankato; Alec Pfeffer, ISG; and Carrie Flanagan, Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown Mankato.


Randy Zellmer, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A., will remain chair of the City Center Partnership Board of Governors. New board members are Jessica Potter, Blue Earth County Historical Society; and Jonathan Kemp, Ardent Mills, LLC.

There were no changes to the GreenSeam Board of Governors. City Center Partnership would like to extend a sincere thank you to outgoing board members Tom Frederick, Jr., Stacey Straka and Kyle Smith. Visit Mankato would like to thank outgoing board members Alissa Brekke, Randy Knutson, Jessica Potter and Burt Lyman. JO Guck Bailey will become past chair and remain on the board as such for one more term. Greater Mankato Growth would like to give special thanks to outgoing board members Todd Loosbrock, Jim Marzolf, Chad Surprenant, Pam Jagdfeld, Marvin Rhodes and Jim Beal. Ron Vetter will become past chair and remain on the board as such for one more term.


About Greater Mankato Growth, Inc.
Greater Mankato Growth, Inc. (GMG) is comprised of four business units; Greater Mankato Growth, the regional chamber of commerce and economic development organization serving the regional marketplace; Visit Mankato, the local convention and visitor's bureau; City Center Partnership, a downtown development organization; and GreenSeam, which utilizes agriculture to build on the region's extensive agribusiness assets to develop the ag economy.


contact:  Patrick Baker, 507.385.6640

The Greater Mankato Growth, Inc. Family: Visit Mankato City Center Partnership