You are here

Firehouse Announces 2021 National Station Design Award Winners

Brunton Architects & Engineers

Fort Atkinson, WI, November 15, 2021—FirehouseMagazine announced the winners of its eighth annual Station Design Awards program, which recognizes outstanding architecture and design from fire departments and emergency facilities nationwide. 

Gold, Silver and Bronze awards were issued across seven categories of facilities in this prestigious competition: Career 1 and 2, Satellite, Volunteer/Combination, Shared, Public Safety Training, and Renovation. All 64 participating entries were published in the November issue of Firehouse Magazine and online at Firehouse.com/Stations.

“We’re excited to team up with fire departments and architecture firms to present the innovative concepts they have created to keep firefighters trained and healthy while they await the next call to serve their communities. As more departments become true all-hazard response agencies, their equipment and training needs grow, and these new facilities keep them response ready while protecting the life-saving equipment safe from the environment.”


Janet Wilmoth, special projects director to Firehouse, noted most of this year’s entries had designated areas for decontamination of fire and EMS personnel after a response. “The need for decontamination areas--separating the ‘dirty’ from ‘clean’ areas of the station--is the direct result of continued research on firefighter cancers,” Wilmoth said. “Also, the increase of natural lighting in all entries addresses the physical and mental health of personnel.” She added, “Every one of this year’s entries is a winner for its improvements for the department and the community that they serve.”

Winners were selected by a panel of six judges, including fire chiefs and architects experienced in recent design and construction.

The 2021Station Design Award winners for

Volunteer/Combination Fire Station Award Winner

  • Gold Award—Cy-Fair Fire Station #5, Houston, TX (Harris Co. ESD 9)
  • Architect: - Martinez Architects, Austin, TX
  • Silver Award—Albert Lea Fire & Rescue, Albert Lea, MN
  • Architect: Brunton Architects & Engineers, North Mankato, MN
  • Bronze Award—Spanish Fork City Station 62, Spanish Fork City, UT
  • Architect: Blalock & Partners, Salt Lake City, UT, with TCA Architecture Planning, Seattle, WA

See the complete news release here.

The Greater Mankato Growth, Inc. Family: Visit Mankato City Center Partnership