You are here

Annual Meeting

The 2020 Greater Mankato Growth, Inc. Annual Meeting
will be held

Tuesday, March 10, 2020

  • 4:30 - 5:45 pm  |  Reception, Registration - CSU Fireside, First Level
  • 5:45 - 6:15 pm  |  Awards & Business Meeting - Ballroom, Second Level
  • 6:15 - 6:45 pm  |  Dinner
  • 6:45 - 8:00 pm  |  Program, Keynote
PLEASE NOTE: if you received a mailed invite, the printed agenda is incorrect. The agenda listed above is the correct one.

Minnesota State University, Mankato
Centennial Student Union


We will celebrate our collective accomplishments from the past year, share our organization’s goals for the future and congratulate our 2019 volunteers of the year!



Keynote Speaker:
An Introduction to Future iQ (video) A Personal Interview with David Beurle (video)


David Beurle

Founder & CEO of Future iQ

David Beurle is a world-renowned strategist, researcher and practitioner. He is CEO of Future iQ, a global foresight research and consulting firm, which he founded in 2003. Beurle helps clients “create future intelligence,” by anticipating the rapidly converging forces affecting their lives and livelihoods. He guides them to proactively define and shape their future with the goal of economic and community resilience and vitality. Clients include countries, regions, cities, tourism destinations, corporations, industries, nonprofits, universities and the U.S. Department of Defense, among others. One of his special interest is the future of regions, which he views as ecosystems for tackling defining issues, such as workforce gaps in supply and demand—a critical area for innovation and prosperity. 

Beurle has developed innovative methodologies, conducted original research and authored numerous papers that advance the field of foresight education and planning. He created The Future Game, a groundbreaking, widely used future simulation tool and pioneered the application of scenario planning to regions and rural industries around the world. He has led over 400 community visioning sessions and lectured at conferences in the U.S. and abroad. An engaging speaker, his strength is making future data relevant to clients’ needs and illuminating the “big picture.” He has designed Think-Tanks with experts, major universities and non-profits and authored benchmark foresight research papers on topics such as The Future of Manufacturing, Cities of the Future, The Future of Food, The Next Industrial Revolution and The Future of Urban Living. His original data research with communities has resulted in a significant growing database on the demand, needs and attitudes for future-based services and thinking. 

A native Australian, Beurle’s interest in the future began in his childhood growing up on his family’s farm. Prior to founding Future iQ, he honed his skills in research and systems-thinking as a Rangeland Scientist in the Outback for the Western Australian Department of Agriculture and for eight years as the Principal Advisor to the Minister of Primary Industries. His U.S. base is in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

This event brings together the business community along with Greater Mankato Growth, Visit Mankato, City Center Partnership and GreenSeam to share the accomplishments of the current year and celebrate the vision for the future. This is also a time where we raise a glass to the companies, organizations and volunteers who partner with us to help our community thrive. 

We recognize individuals or groups who have made outstanding contributions, demonstrated leadership through service and volunteerism and made a contribution to the betterment of quality of life, business environment and economic vitality.


Business Meeting

Greater Mankato Growth, Inc. Approved Board Slate


2019 Volunteers of the Year

Greater Mankato Growth's Volunteer of the Year

Jon Teeslink, Sales Manager at Snell Motors, has been a huge advocate and volunteer for many local nonprofits, including the Red Cross, the United Way, YWCA, YMCA and others, including Greater Mankato Growth. Jon’s dedication to promoting new and expanding businesses as a Greater Mankato Ambassador is just one way he gives back to help build a stronger community for all. He credits his employer of 24 years, Snell Motors, for encouraging participation to volunteer for many local organizations. 

Visit Mankato's Volunteer of the Year

Beth Rohrich grew up in the family business, alongside her dad, mom and two sisters and manages the day-to-day operations at Quality 1 Hr Foto/SPX. Contributing time and resources to help other people’s dreams become a reality is a value she and her employer feel strongly about. By serving on and advocating for the Mankato Sports Commission, and contributing her talents to the Mankato Marathon for all 10 years, Beth has made a clear impact on regional sports. She believes sports are more than just games, but rather an experience to be shared by families.  

City Center Partnership's Volunteer of the Year

Stacey Straka, of PresenceMaker, has lived and worked in City Center Mankato for the past 33 years. Besides serving on many boards in our community, most notably she is a founding board member and past chair of the City Center Partnership Board. As a prior small business owner/operator, Stacey understands the importance of a vibrant city center and feels a thriving downtown business district benefits all businesses, including families and the surrounding community.  

GreenSeam's Volunteer of the Year

Nathan Hanel is the Customer Service Supervisor at Capstone Publishing. Nathan has devoted countless hours to support GreenSeam. He was instrumental in organizing the inaugural Minnesota State of Ag Survey focus groups throughout five southern Minnesota communities. Serving on many other boards and committees, Nathan also dedicates his time and expertise to help students explore careers in agriculture. By serving as the President of the newly formed Mankato FFA Alumni and Supporters, he continues to exemplify the type of volunteer GreenSeam is grateful to have. 


2020 Annual Meeting Presenting Sponsors:


Speaker Sponsor:Reception Sponsor:
Venue Sponsor:Dinner Sponsor:

Table Sponsors:

 Bolton & Menk, Inc.
City of Mankato
Community Bank Mankato
Consolidated Communications
Eide Bailly
Fredrikson & Byron, PA
Mayo Clinic Health System
Pioneer Bank - North Mankato
Quality 1 HR. Foto
Snell Motors
South Central College
Wells Fargo Home Mortgage



Greater Mankato Growth Volunteer of the Year Award Recipients


Nancy Zallek




John Hemstock


David Wittenberg


Nathan Hanel


Yvonne Cariveau


Jesse Schott


Kay Wallerich


Tami Reuter


Joy Kelley


John Daley


Andrew Willaert


William C. Rupp, M.D.


Tami Paulsen


Steve Hill


Paul Wilke


Tim Harder


Dave Ewert


Judy Arzdorf


Fred Lutz


Stephanie Stoffel


JO Guck Bailey


John Todtleben


Don Shoults


Elaine Peterson


Greg Bednar


Visit Mankato Volunteer of the Year Award Recipients


Lori Benike



Maureen Waltman


Sandra Oachs


Jay Reasner


Cindra Kamphoff


Joe DeLory


Peg Hayes


JO Guck Bailey


Mankato Marathon Volunteers: DeeDra Vosburg, Chris Schull and Chris Dehning


Shirley Piepho


North American Fast Pitch Association Planning Committee 

City Center Partnership Volunteer of the Year Award Recipients


Heather Clark




Randy Zellmer


Betty Ouren


Jim Whitlock


Ann Vetter, posthumously


Maida Farnham


Theresa Carlberg


Tami Paulsen


GreenSeam Volunteer of the Year Award Recipients


Gary Koch


Jodie Hermer




The Greater Mankato Growth, Inc. Family: Visit Mankato City Center Partnership